SPACE WELLNESS
Schedules  SPACE An-Ho  SPACE Tien-Mu  SiteMap  Home

Doug Keller

2018/1/19 The Philosophy Talk

2018/1/20-21 Weekend Workshop

2018/1/22-26 5-day Immersion

Therapeutic Wisdom of Yoga and Fascial Distortion Model

The physical practice of hatha yoga basically seeks to maximize freedom of movement while minimizing pain — especially chronic pain that comes from limited or imbalanced movement. In the newest therapeutic insights in contemporary thought, we are coming to understand the cause of much of our chronic pain as arising from ‘distortions’ in the fascia, a specific form of the connective tissue in our body. This perspective is described as the ‘Fascial Distortion Model,’ and it is very practical. There are six types of fascial distortion, a few of which especially appear as the most common causes of pain in yoga and in life. We’ll be exploring how to resolve these distortions through our practice, so we can bring about the greatest freedom and creativity in movement — in body, breath and mind — as we connect back to our own Self, our own self-awareness, from which insight and creativity flows.

  • About Doug Keller
  • The Philosophy Talk
  • Weekend Workshop
  • 5-day Immersion
  • Tuition
  • Sign up

Doug Keller’s background reflects a lifelong commitment to studying, imbibing and sharing the vast field of knowledge and practice known as yoga. After receiving degrees in philosophy from Georgetown and Fordham Universities in the United States, and teaching philosophy at college level for several years, Doug pursued his ‘post-graduate’ education in the practical experience of yoga at the Siddha meditation ashram, Gurudev Siddha Peeth, in India, for seven years, and spent a total of 14 years doing service, practicing, training in and teaching yoga in Siddha meditation ashrams worldwide.

He received intensive training in the Iyengar system in New York City, practiced Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga in India, and became one of the first certified Anusara yoga teachers, producing three highly respected books on asana, pranayama and yoga philosophy. His work has since taken him beyond the confines of the Anusara system. Doug’s further expansion in learning is reflected in his latest and most in-depth work, ‘Yoga as Therapy’, which is one of the most comprehensive, innovative and useful treatments of the structural aspect of yoga therapy available.

Doug’s teaching is rooted in a vast and inclusive perspective of study and practice that honors the insights of the many streams of wisdom that flow into the river of yoga. A regular columnist for Yoga+ Magazine, writing the ‘Asana Solutions’ column that addresses specific therapeutic problems, Doug is a ERYT500 with Yoga Alliance and a member of the International Association of Yoga Therapists.

Spirit and Practice: the Challenge of the Bhagavad-Gita

The Bhagavad-Gita is an important work to contemplate for coming to our own understanding of the relationship of our spiritual or ‘inner’ life to the practical life of action and responsibility that we live day-to-day.

It presents a deep and spiritual understanding of the ‘Self’ that distills the wisdom of yoga from the Upanishads. But it takes up a great challenge at the same time. Where ‘yoga’ was more for the monk and the ‘forest-dweller’ sages of the Upanishads, the Bhagavad-Gita takes up the question of how we are to live according to this vision as ordinary, active people who have not renounced family or society or responsibilities. And as a poetic work, it frames the question in the context of a battle, in which the choices to be made are difficult, demanding and sometimes seemingly impossible. They are the questions of responsibility — our spiritual responsibility to ourselves, as well as to our loved ones, our society and our world.

In this talk, Doug will explain the story that provides the context for this contemplation, and what it suggests as a rich challenge to our own self-inquiry. The ‘answers’ that Krishna presents — especially in terms of the moral principle of dharma he urges Arjuna to follow — reflect the time and context of that society, and we are invited to question and contemplate them in order to come to our own deeper understanding in a very different time and place — especially in light of the outcome of the story!

The talk will be an invitation — in the context of an entertaining and stimulating story of the characters in the dialogue — to contemplate how we fit our inner life to our outer actions, and the principles by which we do so. By being so practical, it challenges us to look deeper into our inner life, beyond the philosophical language of yoga texts, and how we can and should manifest that in our outer life. In the end, the dialogue suggests that the good and virtuous life is not one of moral ‘rules,’ but of conscience and vision. And that the answers are never ‘easy’ to ‘know,’ but have to be lived.

Daily Schedule

2018/1/19 19:00-21:00

Price

$1,500
http://goo.gl/Fi2oME

No CE Credits

The Weekend Workshop will introduce this idea of fascial distortion and how to recognize it as it arises in practice. Specific topics will be:

  • How to take care of your spine through actions of the core
  • How to recognize problems or pain arising from imbalanced actions in practice
  • How to care for your hips, knees, feet and sacrum (first day)
  • How to take care of your neck, shoulders, elbows and wrists (second day)

Each day will center around practicing the different classes of poses, and specific principles for how to both support and ‘unwind’ in these poses to experience the flow of energy they are meant to produce. The workshop will include an active practice of asana, pranayama, meditation and yoga nidra.

Level

All Level

Daily Schedule

09:30 – 12:00 Morning Session
14:00 – 16:30 Afternoon Session

CE Credit

10 hours of CEU credits for Yoga Alliance

Hatha yoga was never simply about stretching, or even seeking simply ‘fitness’ and strength, though it certainly includes the benefits of flexibility and strength. Hatha yoga focused on the blocks or ‘knots’ — physical as well as energetic and emotional — that get in the way of the creative flow of thought and movement, and which cause pain. This was described in terms of the flow of energy — prana or chi — through channels in the body on many levels.

In the immersion, we will explore how the fascia works as the medium of prana, chi or consciousness in the body, and the concrete lines of fascia along which this flows — very similarly to the meridians. We will learn the basic types of fascial distortion, understand how they arise and manifest (especially in yoga practice) and how the practice can be refined in order to resolve these distortions for a greater and more pain-free flow of energy.

Specific topics will include

  • health of the back in connection with the Core, through a refined practice of the bandhas in asana;
  • in-depth treatment of pain from fascial distortions in the neck, shoulders and arms, with principles for working with the neck, shoulders and arms in the many classes of yoga postures;
  • deep treatment of hip and knee pain as well as the role of the feet as a foundation for movement, and recognizing the fascial distortions giving rise to these problems.
  • recognizing patterns of movement that destabilize the spine and cause problems in the limbs,
  • understanding the connections through the myofascial ‘Sutras’ described in my book, ‘The Therapeutic Wisdom of Yoga.’
  • a deeper look into Yoga Nidra and its role in yoga, especially in connection to meditation, pranayama and the issue of emotional blocks, whether conscious or unconscious, that hamper creative living.

Each day will include asana practice and will cover fascial distortions in specific areas of the body through the lens of asana practice, with principles of practice for overcoming them. We will cover the causes of typical injuries in yoga practice (as well as injuries that bring people to the practice of yoga for healing), and how yoga can be practiced to help the body heal itself from these injuries.

Each day will finish with a practice that is a combination of yoga nidra and meditation, which will include inquiry into breath and mantra. And through explanation of the process, we will go deeper into its many layers.

A detailed manual designed specifically for the immersion will be provided to everyone taking part in it, as included in the immersion.

Daily Schedule

09:00 – 12:00 Morning Session
14:00 – 17:00 Afternoon Session

CE Credit

30 hours of CEU credits for Yoga Alliance

Weekend Workshop

Each Day Early Bird Price Register till 2017/11/8 Pre-Training Price Register between 2017/11/9-12/20 Regular Price
SPACE Members NT$4,320 (20% off) NT$4,860 NT$5,400
NON-SAPCE Members NT$4,860 (10% off) NT$5,130 NT$5,400
SPACE 200/500 TT Graduates NT$4,050 (25% off) 11/9 Members or Non-Members rates apply to all
  • SPACE workshop discount vouchers are only valid during the Early Bird Special (before 2017/11/8).

5-day Immersion

Early-Bird Price Register till 2017/11/8 Regular Price
SPACE Members NT$28,600 (12% off) NT$32,500
NON-SAPCE Members NT$30,360 (12% off) NT$34,500
  • Graduates of previous SPACE 200-hour/500-hour TT programs who register and pay for the 5-day immersion before 9/6 will receive an additional 10% off.
  • SPACE workshop discount vouchers are not valid for this immersion.
  • Event Location: SPACE YOGA Anho studio
  • Minimum number of registration to hold the course: 20 students
  • SPACE will video record and photograph the training for our records and promotion purposes
  • Depending on the teacher’s discretion, students may sound record, take video or photos (no flash) for personal use as long as it is not distracting, but please do not post videos on public platforms (such as Facebook, YouTube, etc).
  • To register and reserve your space for the course, please first fill out the online application form then complete the payment process.
  • If you have any questions regarding the course, please email teachertraining@withinspace.com or call our event service hotline: 02-27087133 (service hours: weekdays 10:00 – 19:00)

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

SPACE YOGA Taipei : your sanctuary, your studio, your SPACE.

SPACE 簡介 SPACE 師資 研習課程&師資培訓 館內活動訊息 瑜珈課程 瑜珈社群 教室簡介 有關瑜珈
瑜珈師資培訓課程
研習課程
SPACE WELLNESS
瑜珈課程表  SPACE 安和館  SPACE 天母館    網站地圖   回首頁  Premier Boutique Taipei Yoga Studio

Doug Keller

2018/1/19 哲學講座

2018/1/20-21 週末精華研習課程

2018/1/22-26 五日深度密集研習課程

Doug Keller 瑜珈的療癒智慧與筋膜變形模式

哈達瑜珈──就身體方面的練習,所追求的基本上是將活動自由度最大化;同時將疼痛最小化,特別是因為動作受限或失衡而導致的慢性疼痛。在近代思潮最新的療癒觀點下,我們逐漸開始將大多數的慢性疼痛,視之為筋膜「變形」的結果。筋膜,是我們身體裡特定的一種結締組織。上述觀點被稱作「筋膜變形模式 (Fascial Distortion Model)」, 是非常務實的一套系統。

筋膜變形的模式共有六種,其中有些特別顯現在瑜珈與一般生活中疼痛最普遍的原因。我們將探索如何透過練習來化解這些變形,讓我們無論在身、心,或呼吸,都能以最自由、最具創造力的方式活動,並同時連結回我們的自我及自我意識,而這,也正是洞見與創造力泉湧的源頭。

  • 關於 Doug
  • 哲學講座
  • 週末精華研習課程
  • 五日深度密集研習課程
  • 課程價目
  • 我要報名

Doug 是美國國際瑜珈聯盟 E-RYT 500 資深認證指導師,也是國際瑜珈療癒協會成員。其背景說明了他終身對學習、吸收與分享瑜珈廣泛知識及練習的承諾。

從美國的喬治城大學與福坦莫大學取得哲學學位,並在大學裡教授哲學數年後,開始在印度 Gurudev Siddha Peeth 中心進行 Siddha meditation ashram 冥想靜修,為期七年。他前後花了十四年時間,在世界各地的 Siddha meditation ashram 冥想靜修中心,進行服務、練習、訓練與瑜珈教學。

他曾在紐約接受密集的 Iyengar 訓練,也在印度練習八肢瑜珈,並成為第一批得到 Anusara Yoga 認證的指導師之一。在體位法、呼吸法與瑜珈哲學領域上,他分別寫過三本極受推崇的書籍。其更深遠開拓的學習所得,都在他的深度力作《Yoga as Therapy》裡,它是目前所能得到最全面、最創新、最實用的瑜珈療癒架構之一。Doug 也是專欄作家,在 Yoga+雜誌 Asana Solutions 專欄中,探討與療癒瑜珈相關的各式議題。

Doug Keller 的教學根基於既廣泛又包容的學習與實踐,他結合了各瑜珈派系的智慧洞見,集結成瑜珈之河。

靈性與實務:《薄伽梵歌》的挑戰

《薄伽梵歌》是一部重要的作品,啟發我們思考自己的內在(靈性)生命,和每天過著的,充滿實際作為與責任的現實生活之間的關係。

它所呈現出的,是對於「自我 (Self)」深入且靈性的理解,是《奧義書》中瑜珈智慧的精華。不過它同時也背負著一個巨大的挑戰。在《奧義書》中,所謂的「瑜珈」偏向專屬於僧侶及歸隱森林的聖人的;而《薄伽梵歌》提出的問題是──「我們身為沒有脫離家庭、社會與責任的積極平凡人,該如何根據書中的觀點生活?」而作為詩篇作品,它以一場戰爭故事建構起這個問題。在那場戰爭中,主角即將要做出的抉擇是十分艱難且費神的,它甚至看似根本是不可能的任務。它們是關於責任的提問,我們對於自己、所愛的人、我們的社會和身處之世界的靈性責任。

在本次講座中,Doug 會闡釋這個提供我們思考這個課題的故事,以及它所暗示的,關於我們自我探索的豐富挑戰。奎師那 (黑天 Krishna) 所提出的「答案」,特別是他敦促阿周那 (Arjuna) 所遵循的道 (義務 dharma) 道德原則,反映出該社會的時空背景,而我們則受邀去質疑並深刻思考這些東西── 特別是根據這個故事的結尾──來得到屬於我們自己全然不同時空下的深入洞見。

這場講座是個給各位的邀請,以對話中充滿刺激與娛樂性的故事和角色作為背景,來思考我們如何將自己的內在生命融合至我們的外在作為,以及我們這些行動所依據的準則。如此務實的方式,是挑戰我們超越瑜珈經典中的哲學語言,更深入地看進我們的內在生命,以及我們可以、應該如何在外在生活中實際體現。最終,這場對話暗示著,善且正直的生命本質並非是滿滿的道德規範,而是洞察與良心;況且,答案永遠不會是能夠輕鬆「理解」的,而是必須用生命「活」出來的。

英文授課、中文口譯

譯者簡介: Yifen Chang
SPACE YOGA 瑜珈指導師,中、英文流利,樂於擔任傳遞訊息的使者,口條清晰、用字精確,幽默且從容。歷年來多次擔任 Doug Keller、Hart Lazer、Basia Going、Adarsh Williams 等多位大師研習課程、師資培訓課程的逐步口譯。

課程時間

2018/1/19 19:00-21:00

課程費用

$1,500

報名方式

  1. 兩館現場登記並繳費
  2. 活動通線上報名 http://goo.gl/Fi2oME

哲學講座不發給認證時數


上課地點

SPACE YOGA 安和館/台北市安和路一段 27 號 16 樓

本次研習將介紹筋膜變形的概念,以及當練習中出現此狀況時,我們該如何能覺察到。我們將學習到:

  • 如何呵護你的髖、膝、腳與薦骨(週六)
  • 如何照護你的頸、肩、肘與手腕(週日)
  • 如何透過核心的動作來照護你的脊椎
  • 如何察覺在練習中因為動作失衡所導致的問題或疼痛

每一天都會以不同類別的姿勢作為練習主軸,並會有一些明確的原則,教導我們如何在這些姿勢中支持自己並「解開束縛」,來體驗這些姿勢本就是設計來產生的能量流動。課程將會包含動態的體位法、呼吸法、冥想和瑜珈睡眠 (Yoga Nidra) 等練習。

適合對象

所有程度的練習者

日程表

09:30 – 12:00 上午課程
14:00 – 16:30 下午課程

認證時數

美國瑜珈聯盟 (Yoga Alliance) CE 認證時數 10 小時

英文授課 中文口譯

譯者簡介: Yifen Chang
SPACE YOGA 瑜珈指導師,中、英文流利,樂於擔任傳遞訊息的使者,口條清晰、用字精確,幽默且從容。歷年來多次擔任 Doug Keller、Hart Lazer、Basia Going、Adarsh Williams 等多位大師研習課程、師資培訓課程的逐步口譯。

上課地點

SPACE CYCLE/台北市大安區忠孝東路四段 200 號(明曜百貨 13 樓)

哈達瑜珈從來都不只是伸展,甚至也不是追求純粹的健康與力量,即便它的確會帶來柔軟度和力量等益處。哈達瑜珈關注的是身體、能量以及情緒上的阻塞,或稱之為「結」,它們不僅妨礙了思想與活動創造力的流動,也會導致疼痛。這些被描述成是能量(稱 prana 或是「氣」)透過身體的多層面的通道去流動。

本次研習我們將探索筋膜是何以作為 prana、氣、意識在體內的媒介運作著,以及它們所沿著流動的、與經絡十分相似的具體筋膜線。我們將認識筋膜變形的基本類型,並且理解它們是如何產生、如何體現(特別是在瑜珈練習裡),還有可以如何精煉練習來化解這些變形,以獲得更多的能量流動,同時免於疼痛。

我們將學習:

  • 透過在體位法練習中更精煉地使用鎖印,探索背部健康與核心的關聯
  • 在多種類型的瑜珈姿勢中處理肩、頸、手臂的原則;針對肩、頸、手臂的筋膜變形所導致的疼痛的深度治療
  • 髖與膝的疼痛的深度治療,以及雙腳作為活動根基的角色;了解筋膜變形如何導致這些問題
  • 認識會降低脊椎穩定性並且導致四肢問題的活動模式
  • 藉由 Doug 老師在其著作 The Therapeutic Wisdom of Yoga 中所描述的肌筋膜「經線 (Sutras)」來了解一切的關聯
  • 更深入探討瑜珈睡眠 (Yoga Nidra),及其在瑜珈中扮演的角色,特別是它與線冥想、呼吸法以及阻礙著創意生活的情緒阻塞的關聯,無論自己對於這些阻塞是否有所覺察

每天都將有體位法的練習,也會透過體位法練習的觀點來看身體特定區塊的筋膜變形,以及克服它們的練習原則。我們將討論到瑜珈練習典型的傷害,也會討論到為求療癒的人們之所以來練習瑜珈的傷害,以及瑜珈可以如何地練習,來幫助身體從這些傷害中自行療癒。

每天我們都會以一套結合瑜珈睡眠與冥想的練習作結,這其中將包含著對呼吸以及梵頌 (Mantra) 的探索。透過這些過程的相關說明,我們將更深入它多重的層次。

每位參與本課程的學員,都將獲得一本針對此課程所設計的詳盡手冊。

日程表

09:00 –12:00 上午課程
14:00 – 17:00 下午課程

認證時數

美國瑜珈聯盟 (Yoga Alliance) CE 認證時數 30 小時

英文授課 中文口譯

譯者簡介: 許家珍 Riona Hsu
自由口筆譯工作者、英語老師、RYT200 美國瑜珈聯盟認證指導師,曾擔任 Peter Scott、Doug Keller、Hart Lazer 等多位國際瑜珈大師研習課程的逐步口譯。

上課地點

SPACE CYCLE/台北市大安區忠孝東路四段 200 號(明曜百貨 13 樓)

週末精華研習課程

單日早鳥特惠價
2017/11/8 止
單日課前優惠價
2017/11/9-12/20
單日價格
SPACE 會員 NT$4,320(8 折) NT$4,860 NT$5,400
非 SPACE 會員 NT$4,860(9 折) NT$5,130 NT$5,400
SPACE 歷屆 200/500 小時師資班畢業生 NT$4,050(75 折) 11/9 起,師資班畢業生恢復會員或非會員分別對應的價格
  • 持有研習課程折扣券的 SPACE 會員,限早鳥報名優惠截止日 (11/8) 前抵用
  • SPACE TT SANGHA 社員於早鳥優惠日前享有團體購課優惠,詳情請見社員規章

五日深度密集研習課程

早鳥特惠價
2017/11/8 止
價格
SPACE 會員 NT$28,600(88 折) NT$32,500
非 SPACE 會員 NT$30,360(88 折) NT$34,500
  • SPACE 歷屆 200/500 小時師資班畢業生報名五日深度密集訓練課程可再享 9 折優惠(限早鳥優惠截止日 11/8 前報名)
  • SPACE TT SANGHA 社員於早鳥優惠日前享有團體購課優惠,詳情請見社員規章
  • 本課程不適用 SPACE 研習課程折扣券

【注意事項】

  • 課程報名人數若未達 20 人,將不予以開課
  • 到課學員可在老師同意且不分心的前提下,依照個人學習需求錄影/錄音/拍照 (勿開閃光燈),但請勿將動態影片檔案置於公開平台播放 (例如 Facebook/YouTube 等等)
  • SPACE 工作人員將於課程中錄影及拍照,作為課程記錄及活動回顧分享
  • 請務必先於線上報名系統填寫課程申請表,完成繳款手續,始為報名成功
  • 課程相關問題歡迎來函詢問 teachertraining@withinspace.com,或來電研習課程服務專線:02-27087133(服務時間:週一至週五 10:00-19:00,例假日休息)

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

最精緻的瑜珈教室,最專業的瑜珈課程,就在 SPACE YOGA